TDF 2012 – Day 2

Standard

I don’t know if I’ll manage to keep up with the daily updates, but since we’re here…

Day two has gone pretty well. I didn’t process any new fiber, but I did work through what I have. First I sampled, and I really like the yarn:

It’s a very light fingering weight yarn, incredibly squooshy, and I love it’s rough look. I did a quick knit up of what I had sampled after it dried:

That’s on us 1/2.25mm needles, and I’m really pleased with it. It’s a soft fabric, has lots of bounce, and is going to be pretty ideal for the yoke light-weight cardigan I’m planning to make with it.

That done, I made sure I had my sample for what to spin to attached to my wheel and went back to spinning.

Never underestimate how fine you need that single to be when spinning for fingering weight yarn. I always forget and end up with a DK weight. Taping a strand to my mother of all has been the smartest thing I’ve ever done, haha.

I worked through most the top layer of the box:

and have half a bobbin loaded up:

Tomorrow will likely just be some spinning, since I do have work; Wednesday being a holiday I have high hopes I’ll get through a lot of what I need to processing wise. Need to see if I have another box to store the silver in, and potentially break up and find the darkest greys to group together for a fourth yarn off this sheep. Man, CVM is lovely. It’s so soft and bouncy and I’m really enjoying it.

Because making a pound of yarn is never enough, I also bought enough yarn for a blanket/shrug because I adore the colour:

It’s Paton Classic Wool (one of my favourites) in Jade Heather. It’s a lot more jewel tone than what the photo shows; it’s nearly impossible to photo really. I fell in love with it and figured that 5 balls is a small blanket and $30 well spent. (Can you believe that? $30. For a blanket! Wow.)

And that’s all I got for progress. Hope my fellow tourists are doing well!

Leave a Reply

