Tropes vs Women in Video Games

Standard

I’m usually not one to come onto my blog and try to direct my readers towards this. I think I did a SOPA post or two, because I thought it important, and I’ve probably done others in the past. But this time I’m getting out my box again, and hoping that some of you will at least consider the following.

I am a gamer, and I also happen to be female. I happen to know quite a bit about how that usually goes. I get that video gaming as a hobby can be an incredibly toxic environment as a woman, and I generally don’t go around telling people on the internet that I’m a woman if the parts of the internet I’m deal with video games. I don’t because of reactions like can be seen to this Kickstarter that’s is dealing with education. I don’t because I remember things like Penny Arcade and the dickwolves fiasco and how it was all cool until the artist’s family got threatened the way the woman who spoke out against it did. Or how about watching a woman’s love of a game get her sexually harassed and mocked until she just gives up.

Being female and a gamer is a good way to invite that sort of thing, and it makes me angry. It makes me angry that this environment is so toxic and tries so hard to silence people who legitimately want to enjoy these things. And it’s just one other thing to add to the fact in a video game, a woman is almost definitely going to be some sort of object–probably scantily clad. It makes me furious that being a decent human being is not a given.

So yeah.

I want you guys to consider this Kickstarter, because it is important to me–gaming is part of my identity for better or worse. It’s a series of videos she would like to make about how women are represented in video gaming. Just watch the Kickstarter video below. If you’d like to donate, just click the link underneath the video.

I know I don’t really get too personal on here, but thanks for listening.

Tropes vs. Women in Video Games

Leave a Reply

