Emergency surgery

Standard

So there I was just knitting away when I realized what was off about my shawl. See, last night something felt wrong but I couldn’t tell what. Let’s see if you can find it.

20120305-124623.jpg

Yeah, it’s pretty obvious. Since I get into work pretty early, I decided to make liberal use of the paper clip as a needle and threaded through where I needed to rip back to. But I did it for just the stitches in question.

20120305-124949.jpg

This was pretty irritating because I didn’t have any of my tools with me, just the needles, and it was a bit of a big mistake. The one half was easier since no actual stitch work was happening there.

20120305-125236.jpg

The other half needed to be done in pattern. I wouldn’t recommend doing this without some sort of hook if it is the first time that you’ve ever done an in-pattern fix. Otherwise just proceed row by row, right to left, keepin in mind which are purl rows as you go. It’s not hard, just slow. Yarn overs are probably the hardest one to do since you don’t often have reason to examine how it’s set up.

20120305-125507.jpg

And there you go! Pretty cool, huh? Blocking will help smooth this bit out, but I’m pretty happy it isn’t as obvious as I thought it would be.

20120305-125707.jpg

For those interested, the photos were edited with a Chinese photo ap for iPhone. It’s very intuitive, so I’d recommend it if you want one for the iPhone. Search for “Xiamen” and it’s the first result.

5 responses »

  1. Having to perform emergency surgery on a lace shawl is something that gives me the shivers. I’m the sort of person who uses guidelines and would rather rip back to the last completed section in order to repair something like this, even if it means more work in the end. Of course, I don’t always have the tools around to make such small repairs, so maybe if I did, I’d be less likely to undo so much of my work!

    • I absolutely hate ripping back, and this particularly yarn is very very fuzzy, so it’s semi-felting itself only a row or two later. It makes ripping back about as fun as ripping back mohair. Anything to make my fixes feel like such utter defeat as losing those 7 rows is good by me! (Bah who needs lifelines amirite?)

  2. Hi, I have also knitted this patten and it made a very nice shawl! You managed to repair your mistake well, but… Unfortunately, I recognize another mistake in your knitting: the blossoms below the repaired rows have only 6 nupps, but in the pattern and in your previous pattern repeats 8 nupps, similar problem with the yo blossoms… You obviously skipped a row. I hope this will not disturb you or if it does, that you haven’t knitted much more until now (or noticed it yourself…). And I am really sorry if you would have never noticed that mistake and are now frustrated because of my comment…

    • I actually noticed it four rows later, and decided that would be the unofficial middle. 😛 Some things I just can’t care about, and that would have REQUIRED ripping back since nupps take up so much yarn. Not going to do that with that particular yarn. You can’t hardly notice it without really looking in the completed, unless you know it’s there.

      • Happy you 🙂 I can never think mistakes away. If I notice a mistake, I have to fix it, even if no-one else would ever notice that mistake. Fortunately, until now I have managed with methods like your “surgery” or going back stitch by stitch just one row – because of a forgotten nupp.

Leave a Reply

