Lovely Day for a Bike

Standard

Actually, it was. I think biking when it’s warm enough that rain feels good is one of my favourite things, as I can bike until I feel ready to quit–and quitting isn’t based off of how hot it is but actual muscle tiredness. I always feel like I could bike forever when I’m soaking wet in a good spring rain.

Before we finish that story, let’s take a quick look at some knitting and fiber. This is how I can manage to claim this is still a knitting blog after so long, after all:

That’s Lizette, roughly assembled so you can see that it’s nearly done. I need to work 36″ of i-cord, do a 3 needle bind off for the front, and seam up/sew in ends that I didn’t before it’s finished, but I’m fully expecting that I’ll be able to wear it come Tuesday for work. It’s going to be a great work shirt, and I’m very excited. Plus, it looks like I will have one full ball leftover once I’m done, and I have no idea what will happen to it. Maybe a new crochet potholder? Who knows!

On the spinning front, I am completely done with the purple stuff. I think it’s Corriedale (it felt like Corriedale), but whatever the case, I’m pretty pleased with the end result. There’s just enough difference in the two batches that I think it’ll make a great set of (thick) (also warm) colourwork mittens or some such. Maybe give some double knitting a try for a hat? Not sure! In any case, the darker has 168 yards to 4 oz, while the lighter is 161 yards to about 4 oz. Those weights aren’t exact, but I did start with 4 oz of each, so that’s what we’ll call it for now.

I am not showing the photo of the work-in-progress design, but I have figured out a use for the Kauni. Once completed, it will be photographed in resplendent glory, and then I’ll have a pattern up very shortly after. I’ve been on a big design kick since school ended–probably because it gives me a good use for time that no longer is eaten up by homework. Spring is also the biggest time for me to be inspired, it seems–the loss of winter’s chill and snow makes me want to create everything. Not a bad thing by any means.

Which also means, provided I work it out, we’ll have a very pretty lacy arm warmer design started right after I finish Dangland’s socks, to eventually also be written up and made into a pattern. That’s what the Rowan Tweed will end up doing–I even have a stitch pattern that could work picked out.

On the non-knitting front, let’s have a tomato plant update!

They’re getting a bit bigger. It’s been about 2 weeks since I brought them home and planted them. Perhaps the biggest thing is how much greener and bushier they’ve gotten since I bought them–they don’t seem to have gotten terribly much taller. I’ll be biking out to Ace to pick up a support for all of them in about 2 weeks, that way I can tie them to it once they get their little fruits going.

As the talking about rainy bike rides might give away, I went to the farmer’s market today despite the rain. I was out in the nice showers for a good 2 and half hours, and by the time I got home I was thoroughly soaked. So was everything with me. However! I feel like I had a good time anyway, even if I needed a nap after all the biking and walking around.

We have bacon, asparagus, heirloom lettuce thing, snow peas, spinach, green onion, strawberries, radishes, and 1 (one) unpictured zucchini that’s already been used for my dinner tonight. It was really a good zucchini. I’d never had radish before, and Cleverly had me try one, which immediately made me buy two bunches of the buggers. Radishes are good–I never knew. I also had a snow cone, of the blue flavour. Delicious.

Things seem to be going pretty good around these parts, at least for now. I hope everyone else is doing well!

Leave a Reply

