Recipe Time

Standard

Maybe I should change the blog title to “Silverrose Cooks” with how much I post about food around these parts. Nevertheless, tonight I made a delicious thing, and it ISN’T entirely someone else’s recipe, so I thought to share.

The inspiration for the recipe was one that came with my farmer’s market pasta. It used asparagus–I currently lack asparagus, but the idea of using a bit of vinegar and finishing the pasta as I added a bunch of liquids seemed interesting, so I ran with it. I think I was meant to use balsamic–I tasted some red wine vinegar, though, and thought that went well with how I knew the marsala wine would work, so went that route instead.

Alas, I didn’t take pictures. I’m sure you’ve all seen brown and buttery mushrooms in your life. If you haven’t, you are missing way out.

Mushroom and Onion Marsala Pasta

Ingredients

  • Button mushrooms, sliced – 3/4 lb
  • one small onion, or quarter of a large one, diced
  • 3 TBsp butter
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 4 oz dry fettuccine noodles–I used garlic pasta from my local farmer’s market
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup Marsala
  • 1/4 cup stock*
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar
  • crushed red pepper flakes (optional, based off spice preference)

Steps

  1. Bring pot of well-salted water to boil. Place noodles in, and cook until al dente. Drain, reserving roughly 1/8 cup of pasta water.
  2. In cast iron or heavy bottomed pan (10-12″), melt 2 TBsp of butter. Put mushrooms and onion in pan and cook until liquid mushrooms give off is mostly evaporated, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add Marsala wine and garlic together. Cook until most of the Marsala has evaporated.
  4. Add in stock, vinegar, reserved pasta water, and pasta in all at once. Add last TBsp of butter. Stir, adding in red pepper flakes if desired. Once most of liquid is gone, remove from heat.
  5. Plate! Salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy. 🙂

The longest part is probably just waiting on the mushrooms to stop releasing all their liquids–they’re pretty juicy buggers. This is pretty important, though, because once they’ve done that, they get to soak up all the lovely liquids you throw in afterwards.

Yes, I do still knit. I’m currently on the last sleeve of Lizette.

——

*I used homemade mushroom stock. It took a while to make, but it is very tasty. Chicken or veal stock would be excellent substitutes if you do not happen to have mushroom stock; nonhomemade mushroom stock would work as well.

Leave a Reply

