Versatile Blogger Award

Standard

First order of business, because I’ve put this off for a bit due to work/school. (School is over, but I’ll get to that in a moment)

Stacey over at The Original Yarn Salad gave me an award a few weeks ago, for Versatile Blogger! It’s a pay-it-forward sort of thing, and while I’m not one for these sorts of things, it seems only fair to pass it along. It was quite nice to get it too, as it was a bit of a surprise.

Here are the rules:
1. Thank and link back to blogger who linked you–did link, but thanks again Stacey!

2. 7 things about me

This is a little difficult, as I’m not one given to sharing lots of little details, but here’s some stuff you might not know about me!

  1. I was born in Texas on a military base, delivered by a major. I didn’t grow up in Texas; we moved around, so I spent time in Texas, Germany, and good ol’ North Carolina.
  2.  Through most of highschool, my stepfather got on a big rabbit kick, so I know how to take care of 30 rabbits at a time, and know way more about rabbits than I ever wanted. Yes, we had a singular angora that I got before I knew how to spin–I just liked how fluffy it was. Most of the rabbits were rescue bunnies.
  3.  I have been trained in book repair, and can take apart and put a book back together–as long as it has sewn hymns instead of glued ones. It’s really quite fun and relaxing, if a little time-consuming!
  4. I am crazily, distressingly nervous quite a lot of the time. I worry very easily, and it does bleed into how I think more than a little. It really started happening more frequently after I moved out across the country alone, but knitting and the addition of spinning + designing really calms me down. It’s not crippling, and over the years I’ve gotten much better at handling it and not spazzing out at others.
  5. I like to think I have a very good memory, and I try to do things that help hone and keep my brain working so I don’t forget things. This is more on personal events than it is information, though I’m pretty good at plain facts too. Memory is pretty important to me, since I’m a chronic non-photograph taker of important events.
  6. I have had two confirmed and one possible peritonsillar abscesses in my life, all after coming to college. It’s what happens (sometimes) when tonsillitis progresses–a pocket of pus builds up in the tonsil region and it’s pretty awful and painful. I’ve always had throat issues with my tonsils most of my life, and I think much of it is because I am allergic to penicillin, so I had two meds available when I would invariably get strep throat each year–to the point they weren’t particularly effective when I started getting the abscesses. Now I have no tonsils and my life is much easier on the health front!
  7. I enjoy taking my time when cooking things. I love to cook things that take a long time and a lot of care to get right–I’m more likely to try and make my own stock than to buy a can of it. I feel like there is something to be gained from being willing to not cut corners when making a meal, even if you need to make it in advance and eat it later. I also like knowing exactly where and what I’m putting in my body comes from, and tweaking the flavours for my own taste. I’m not a fan of the whole ‘in and out of the kitchen’ cheats that some of the people on Food Network seem to advocate–cooking should be a labour of love.

3. Other bloggers! Between 5-15. I’ll be sticking to 5, as I think that about stretches how many I know…

Trampled By Geese
She hasn’t been updating lately, which makes a bit sad, but this lovely woman works to find beauty in life beyond the general suffering. She raises pretty ducks, knits, and spins, and sells handspun as well.

The Daily Skein
Cailyn is a really wonderful designer, and I really admire her work and process. She has a few tutorials around, sometimes documents her travels, and there’s always some beautiful knitting to look at. She also toys with going beyond knitting, most recently playing with inkle weaving.

Zamiel’s Knitting Blog
Zamiel is really fun as well, and a fellow goon from Something Awful. She’s sort of new to knitting (1.5 years or so, so maybe that isn’t new anymore? I don’t know!), and the blog is a bit new, but it really looks promising. She’s already done some dyeing and has some pretty projects on view, as well as some thoughts. Keep an eye out!

Moth Heaven
I love this blog. It always full of the sort of quiet elegance that I adore so much, and in so many different facets. Knitting, weaving, and just whatever pretty thing catches the eye. Really worth a look.

Chopkins
Another blog laden with elegance, Catherine covers a world that I’ve always been curious about but am not too familiar with–sewing. The way she works knitting in with sewing, re purposes old cloth, and creates the prettiest things is just breath-taking, and I love the little glimpses of projects we get.

4. Contact the people! Will do shortly.

Nother post incoming with actual UPDATES about what I’ve been up to.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Felicity

    Thank you so much for the award and for the lovely things you say about my blog. I am so sorry I did not thank you earlier, my only excuse is I was away for nearly all of Greece and am still catching up. I am so glad you enjoy my blog, like you I stray from knitting from time to time! I am adding your url to my llist of followers ( and will watch out for what you knit with that handspun)

Leave a Reply

