NOT KNITTING — A momentary MLP splurg

Standard

I admit it.

I like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.

I think it is a great update on a not so great show in the past, with all new plot and funtimes. It’s done by the woman who did Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends and Powerpuff Girls. As I loved Powerpuff Girls, I was kind of sold by that.

The episodes are easily available in good quality on YouTube (the lady encourages it, since they stay up on the show’s network channel very briefly).

With that said, it was only a matter of time before I busted out the unicorn cookie cutter and realized what could be done. Smitten Kitchen’s newest food post (goldfish crackers) really just sealed the deal when I realized I had 4 oz of extra sharp cheddar cheese I had no other real use for.

Allow me to introduce my slight alteration on the original recipe: Sun Shine, A Cheddar My Little Pony Cracker

 

Tools:

  • Rolling pin of some sort
  • Blender or food processor
  • Counter
  • Unicorn cookie cutter
  • Cookie Sheet
  • Parchment paper (if nonstick pan is not really nonstick these days)
  • Fridge
  • Plastic wrap  or wax paper

 

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 Tablespoons of Butter
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • salt (will sprinkle on before baking)
  • 4 oz sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix all ingredients in food processor until it forms a ball.* Wrap in plastic wrap/wax paper and chill in fridge for 30-45 minutes.

On a lightly floured counter and with lightly floured roller, roll out into a thin sheet, about 1/8 inch.**

Cut out unicorn shapes and place on pan or put on wax paper on pan.*** Once you’ve gotten as many unicorns as you want/think you can, sprinkle salt over the crackers. Place in center rack for 12-15 minutes, or until edges of your crackers are lightly brown.

Allow to cool (5-10 minutes), and then enjoy!

 

 

*If you use a blender, mix in half batches, and take out just after it is mostly sticking together. You can mold it into a ball.

**I found I needed to repowder the roller fairly frequently due to cheese moistness.

*** To get the fetching eye/tattoo, you will need to poke them in with a chopstick/wooden skewer. You can poke all the way through, it helps keep the cracker from getting UEBER puffy.

2 responses »

  1. You may or may not have any idea how much I wish I had a small block of cheddar right now @_@ Also, I’ve been hearing about MLP:FIM for a long while from assorted sources, I think I may have to jump into that soon.

  2. Those are adorable! And I bet they taste delicious, too!

    Thanks for your kind words. I am not a fan of itty-bitty beads. You can’t even see a lot of them without a macro lens. Gimme a BEAD, you know?

Leave a Reply

