Cria Fest 2010 and DST

Standard

On Saturday, I went to Hollywood Hill Boutique with the Des Moines Metro Knitters for Cria Fest. It’s put on by the Southern Iowa Alpaca farm, and part of the day is for activities, part of it for lunch, part for shopping, part for visiting the alpaca themselves.

I’ve yet to manage to get the pictures from my phone to my computer (and I may not, I’m not sure how to do it since I have no removable memory for my phone), but check out Essjay’s blog for a picture of the youngest cria, whose only two weeks old. It’s at the end of the post.

EDIT: Have two photos of me and Bosley, also taken by Essjay. DSC_4657

DSC_4659

Isn’t that the cutest? He’s a fullgrown alpaca too. END EDIT

I’m going to admit that I was terrified of alpaca. They looked so disproportionate in my head, so terrifyingly not quite together, like they should just fall apart. Turns out they are much smaller, which makes them less disproportionate, and thus they are actually pretty adorable. Huzzah!

Naturally, I bought some fiber. The box I came home with is from Ralampago, who is super soft. (All their alpaca are cream coloured; they do not breed any other colours).

Not pictured: a box of Vaquero, which is actually (somehow) even softer than Ralampago. It’s kind of fascinating. He also has a lovely luster to his coat, and I’m quite excited. I bought 4 ounces of Vaquero, so I have enough for mitts and a hat.

I also bought some commercial alpaca roving, which is a fantastic brown gray. I have 8 ounces of it, and it came with that fantastic plastic pouch, which is great for hanging on my wrist while spinning and keeping fiber from going anywhere.

I was smart and took a spindle this time so I could start spinning right away. I spun up 17.5 grams fairly quickly, and went ahead and weighed out some more to keep spinning. I’m debating what type of ply I want–a two ply is great for colourwork, and a 3 ply would be good for colourwork socks.

In other news, I’ve spent all Monday kicking myself. I’ve ran an hour behind because daylight savings (and the switches) always leave me temporally disoriented, so without fail I end up late for everything. This caused me to miss the class I was super looking forward to today, as it didn’t dawn on me what the time actually was until noon–and the class started at 11:00. Smart.

I hate daylight savings.

Leave a Reply

