Waterworks Park the 2nd

Standard

Since it was a lovely evening, I was at a loss for what to do with myself. K has agreed to lend me his mountain bike for a bit (GLEE! GEARS AGAIN OH JOY) until I can afford to go down the DSM bike collective and pick out one for myself (looking forward to that–I’m planning to donate my cruiser since I can’t stand the lack of gears).

I took the long way, down 35th to Ingersoll, because I feel a lot more comfortable in the road on a bike with gears. It was a pleasant ride down, and I got to the park again with no troubles. I’m starting to figure out where the major trails are in Des Moines, and plan on going to the Rasmussen bike store at some point since it isn’t too far.

I actually ventured further into the park, did a little off-roading (mountain bikes are wonderful like that), was hissed at by geese, and saw numerous other riders out and about. Then I made my way back to a bank on the river I’d seen, stopped and read for a bit, then continued on my way home. I ended up stopping at Dahl’s Cafe for a Coke, which was delicious, and then finally made it the last bit home before it got dark. All in all, and excellent ride. I bet I’ll enjoy it more when there’s a bike that actually fits me. (K’s has a bit farther on the reach than I’m comfortable with, and the seat is silliness, and so on and so forth)

I managed 10.5 miles, which is quite nice after the paltry 2 miles a day I’ve been getting. I’m certainly tuckered out now, though, and I think some more book reading/sleep is in order.

One response »

  1. So sorry that your new cruiser didn’t work out but I’m glad that you’ve been riding some. I hope you can find a good deal on a new bike!

Leave a Reply

