Spicy Honey Chicken

Standard

I do not dare call myself a chef, but I am the idle cook. On occasion I find something I like, and then proceed to figure out how to make it even more mine. If I really like it I want to share it.

Usually it goes unmentioned, but this time I simply feel it would be a crime.

I found a honey marinade for chicken, and then got it a bit spicier. Not too spicy, mind. I loved it. Today, as I was cooking just for me, I added in some onion and bell pepper a bit before the chicken. The inspiration took me, and now I have something delicious to share with you.

This is made in several stages, and the longer you can marinate the better–I usually plop stuff in the day before and then cook with it for dinner. This particular marinade is easy to tell when it’s going to be good–the chicken turns deep brown colour after soaking it up, and the honey isn’t quite as sludgy anymore.  That same brown will be even more intense when you’re cooking–it probably won’t look too appetizing, but it certainly smells that way.

I imagine that this would work on chicken flavoured tofu, though don’t hold me to it–I know next to nothing about the properties of tofu.

To increase, just double everything below. You’re going to get a fair bit of marinade even with this. You probably shouldn’t double the brown sugar or cinnamon unless you think it’ll be good.  My cooking is a bit less on the measurements, but I have tried to make it clear here.

Ingredients:

Marinade:

  • 1/8 c (2 Tbsp) vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbsp 2 tsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp 2 tsp soy
  • black pepper
  • 1 clove garlic (1/4 tsp granulated garlic will replace)
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper or chili powder (or both!)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • dash of tarragon
  • if desired, a few szechuan dried chilis, to be removed after cooking–these will really spice it up

For the pan:

  • 1/8 slice  off a large red bellpepper, or a quarter of a small one
  • 1/4 onion
  • about a Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

The Meat:

  • 1 large chicken breast with rib meat

To make:

Marinade:

In a bowl, whisk together all ingredients listed under marinade until as smooth as possible–the honey will be very resistant at first. Cut the chicken breast into large chunks and add into the marinade. Cover, shake, and then allow to soak in the fridge for a minimum of 2 hours.

After the marinate:

Heat a skillet or frying pan to medium heat, putting in enough veggie oil to coat the bottom thinly. Dice the onion and red bell pepper, adding them to the pan as you go. Once all has been added, dollop the butter in, then coat in brown sugar and cinnamon. Mix together thoroughly and allow to cook approximately another minute. Add in chicken pieces and the rest of the marinade. Turn the chicken occasionally until cooked through–rarely more than 10 minutes, usually closer to 5 for me.  Turn off heat and remove from heat, serving.

Some Suggested Sides:

  • a serving of rice (which is what I did here)
  • baked potato
  • mashed potato
  • bed of pasta, such a linguine or angel hair
Leave a Reply

