Crow Prints Shawl Pattern

Standard

Edit: The shawl is now available for download as a .pdf ! crowPrintShawlv1.3

v1.3 is the most updated; a word is changed in regards to written instructions for clarity, and an extra stitch on purl rows in the chart has been removed.

Original Post:
Let’s share some lovely finished pictures and an inspirational story.

The Crow Prints Shawl started as a scarf, and was meant to be little more than a sampler and way to use up some more of the yarn leftover from another project. After doing a single triangular top-down shawl, though, I wanted to do another, and I loved the pattern so much it seemed appropriate.

The crow foot pattern that is the staple of this simple shawl is a favourite for a few reasons: it’s simple but not too simple, easily memorized, and has a nice look when done. It reminds me of crow’s feet, for obvious reasons. I rather like crows, even if few others do. They are a staple of winter, they and their raven cousins, and while they lack the bright colours and songs of the spring time birds I find it nice to see them. They share laughter amongst each other, and as the shawl grew in my mind, I could see it as a murder of crows, each putting their print down in the green fabric as a reminder of their presence once the green of spring made them vanish again.

The shawl itself isn’t particularly complicated, and only uses a ball and half of KnitPicks Palette. It took me a week to get done after classes and work started up again. I tried to design the pattern so that the introduction of new prints with the adding of stitches makes sense.

The nice thing about Palette is that it blocks very well. It’s fingering weight, so there’s much less worry about it breaking. As such, it’s very easy to block very strongly, which I like to get as much airy out of a pattern as possible. It seemed doubly critical in this piece with a bird-based stitch.

The finished shawl blocks to 2 yards width and 32 inches length with my gauge and knitting.

18 responses »

  1. The shawl is SO lovely! It is so unique which I completely love. So many lace shawls start to just look the same but this one isn’t the same! I can’t wait to knit one!

  2. REALLY LOVELY… I have it downloaded.. hope to start it very soon.. LOVE the pattern and your choice of color.. I am going to order the same yarn as it looks perfect for the project and you can’t bet the price..

    • I started way back when I was about 8 years old and sheer stubborned it. Doing a really narrow garter stitch scarf is always a good start (just all knits or all purls). If you want to transition to stitch patterns like the shawl, then it might be easier to start with just the stitch pattern to figure out how it works.

      Really, I’m the total opposite–I keep wanting to pick up crochet but it seems way more difficult to me.

  3. Pingback: A Living Meme « Silverrose Knitting

  4. Pingback: Post Holiday FO Round-Up « Mrs. Darsie's Menagerie

  5. Hi there,

    I’m really sorry to bother you but I’m working on the Crow Prints Shawl and am running into an issue. I really can’t figure out where I’m going wrong and I was wondering if you could perhaps help me. My big issue is after the first 26 rows, when I go back to row 1 to repeat, the number of stitches isn’t matching up. I keep trying to work this out but I’m really dyscalculaic (math dyslexic). How many stitches should I have at the end of row 26, the first time I do it so that the K2 *YO K13 YO* K1 repeat will work?

    Many thanks in advance,

    Kitty

    • I’m going to stick this in comments for anyone else that gets stuck for the same reason as these two; they’ve both been sent emails talking about it. Remember, if this doesn’t do it for you, PLEASE get in touch with me and I’ll try and do my best to help!

      Row 26 will be a purl back row.

      It sounds like you aren’t repeating a section you need to. When you get to the second set of repeats, you will do K2 *YO K13 YO* K1 — the only thing is, for this style of shawl, you will have just added 2 more panels, so you will need to YO [K13] three times YO (as k 39). So, if you were doing a 3rd repeat, you would need to take into account another 26 stitches–2 more panels on each side. So, when you finish purling back on row 26, you should have 4 edge stitches, 1 center stitch, and 78 stitches TOTAL between edges and center, for 83 stitches total.

      The next few patterned rows will look like this written:

      Row 1 (27th row): K2, *YO [K13]x3 YO* , K1, repeat from * to *, K2

      Row 3 (29th row): K2, *YO, K1, [K13]x3, K1, YO* K1, repeat * to *, K2

      Row 5 (31st row): K2, *YO, K2, [SKP, K4, YO, K1, YO, K4, K2tog]x3, K2, YO*, K1, repeat from * to *, K2

      Looking at the written directions, these repeated sections are placed inside of [brackets]. These are the 13 stitches that make up the actual crow’s feet, and the stuff on each side is setting up for future additions of the feet. On the charts, the 13 stitch panels are separated by both a thick line and some space.

      Again, CONTACT ME if you get stuck and need help. 🙂

  6. How did you isolate the center stitch after the first 26 rows? I don’t want to make increases in the middle of the shawl but I can’t figure out how to maintain yarn overs surrounding the center stitch without ending up with more stitches. Help!

  7. I have just finishes rows 1-26. The pattern tells me to repeat these rows 3 more times. I’m unclear on how to do that since the pattern starts again with a few sts PM 13 sts PM a few sts. Do I simply k / p the sts on either side of the 13 or is there another way to keep the crows foot pattern?

    • When you work rows 1~26, please make sure you are working the body instructions *only*.

      You should have a new crow’s foot on each side of the original 13 stitches — you can see this more easily if you look at the charts. When you repeat rows 1~26 of the body the 2nd time (so rows 27~52) , you will work the pattern from * to * 3 times. When you do the body a 3rd time (rows 53~78), you will work * to * 5 times.

      • Thank you so much. Your answer to Kitty English and “neenah” was also very helpful. I’m making this shawl out of beautiful silvery lavender yarn spun by a friend, so I am keen to finish it, wear it, and love it!

Leave a Reply

