Review– Triangular Summer Shawl Pattern

Standard

Hello hello. Thought to share some of my general thoughts on the shawl, since otherwise I’ve gotten very little done.

I wove in the ends (at last), so it’s really officially done.

As I’ve mentioned numerous times, I love Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia, and with the shawl finished that hasn’t really changed. I’ll do a proper review of the book at a later date, but for right now, let’s just focus on this particular pattern–The Triangular Summer Shawl.

I’m fairly certain that there aren’t any errata for this particular pattern (I have an early run, so I’ve had to write in all the errata that’s come out)–very nice since it was the first pattern I started. It’s a nice introduction to nupps (it rhymes with soup), without having edgobs of them like the Crown Prince Shawl or the Garbo Hearts pattern. You really learn to tension them on this shawl, and learn all sorts of tricks just by doing. It’s also not a horribly slow knit (I just take forever to do anything). The fact you start at the wide edge and decrease your way to the point is also really nice, as it makes go faster and faster as you near the end.

The border wasn’t difficult, but having looked through other borders, I might have picked a different one because I’m lazy–but the one with the shawl looks marvelous, and there’s really no need to alter it.

As with most lace knitting, the pattern becomes a lot easier if you know how to read your own knitting. I imagine that this would feel near impossible if you cannot–primarily because if the light was wrong I couldn’t read mine, and it was frustrating. Bush decided to go with slowly phasing out the side parts of the pattern repeat in the center, which I think is rather elegant and keeps a great deal of continuity, but it also makes that the more difficult part of the pattern. It does become a bit intuitive after a while, but I still referenced the chart a lot when I was doing those just to make sure I didn’t mess up.

The border for the sides that lead to the point of the triangle is sewn on after both pieces are knit separately. This was the thing I was probably dreading most, but I really shouldn’t have. It’s just the same thing over and over again, and it’s very relaxing. You just need some good light and a bit of time–I did mine at a knit-night with the girls I go to uni with.

If my scale told me correctly, it also took up surprisingly little yarn. My shawl weighs in at 1 ounce (about 25 grams), which means it only used about 350 yards of yarn. Since I used a giant ball of Skacel, I have enough for probably two shawls of about the same size, which is very nice.

I personally would recommend this pattern to anyone who really love to knit lace. It’s quite magical, you get a good feel for nupps, and the pattern is really easy to read. It does block out far larger than I expected it would, so you should have a great deal of space available for it (just like any shawl, really 😉 ).

One response »

  1. I think it is great there is a group of students that knit at school – I wish I’d found crafting when I was younger!

    I’ve been eying that shawl book for a long time and I think I just need to buy it. I think I’m intimidated by the time it will take to knit a lace weight shawl. I can do lace shawls in worsted in a week and I can’t expect that with lace weight!

Leave a Reply

