Finished Hat and Frogged Sock

Standard

A friend had requested a hat, and I finished it today. It’s fairly simple, but as it’s for a guy, that shouldn’t be too surprising. It’s done with the fantastic Madlinetosh Tosh Merino in Brother’s Grimm (he picked it). The rib is a double slip stitch 1 x 3 rib (slip the first st for two rows, and on third knit it, purl all other sts). I’m quite pleased with how smooth the top came out; when I did A’s, it was rather less a smooth increase, and that’s what made me modify for this one.

While I think it’s fairly easy, I might write up a quick pattern on how to make a simple hat, including instructions about taking gauge and figuring out how many stitches to cast on.

I frogged my Nobody socks design, primarily because the amount of silk in the yarn means it hates to slip over my heel easily. It’s a shame, but I’m sure there will be another use for it. Besides, I think doing this in Knitpicks Stroll Ash would be far more Nobody and Graveyard Book than the royal hues of Noro. I’ll probably work on the design a bit too, so it’s a bit more Graveyard like. I think traveling stitches of tree branches could look excellent and still let me do some of that spiral I want.

Here’s some pictures of my sadly frogged sock.

And that’s all for today!

Leave a Reply

