Why hello there

Standard

You’d think I’d forgotten my blog with how long I’ve been away (other than that PSA). Sorry! Just was busy and then drained and then busy.

I ended up not finishing the Tour. With everything going on I got rather burned out, so I have some yarn, and lots waiting to be processed.

But lately I’ve been feeling more human, so here’s a generally update on what’s been happening. Mostly food, actually! Love food.

It all started when I sprung and bought myself a Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I got it for fairly cheap (especially compared to the retail price), and I adore it already. Oodles. (It may or may not have to do with being able to make my favourite royal icing at any time without needing to set aside 30 minutes to hand whip egg whites).

Next thing you know, this happened:

Why yes, that is four different types of butter. From left to right–my favourite Irish butter, butter from a local creamery, some organic butter I bought, and a European style butter. Mmmm. Just before this shot I was making croissants(!) so that’s why there’s not as much as there could be.

Speaking of croissants, I’m very pleased that you can take something sludgy like this:

and a bit of flattened and beaten butter like this:

and get something quite as glorious as this:

These croissants came out much better than my last batch! So. Much. Better. They’re fabulous.

Next time I’m going to aim to get even fluffier insides, but this ain’t half bad:

Also made a batch of cookies because why not:

Not pictured are the already eaten chocolate cake and strawberry buckle that I made over the past two weeks.

I’ve actually been knitting too, though just on one project (which I want done by Halloween). The heat laying off a bit here has definitely helped, since it’s (gasp) a blanket (and we all know I don’t knit blankets so shut up).

No, it’s not grey. I have no idea why it photographed grey. I know it must hate me since it did, but that’s about par for course for this particular blanket/yarn, so no big deal. A slightly fuzzy detail of the ring I’m on now:

And another overall shot:

This thing is going to be massive. I’ve only just started ball 3, and I’ve still got a ways to go. Scary, I might get devoured by it. Welp. You’ll know where to find me!

And that’s about all I’ve got for you this evening. Keep knitting, keep cooking, and have fun!

One response »

  1. OMG, congrats on the KitchenAid Mixer! Every time I see it in the store, I say, “One day, you will be *mine*!!”. Heh.

    Those croissants look sooo yummy! :D

Leave a Reply

